Bungie extends Destiny 2 beta on PS4 and Xbox One

Vanguard Ikora Rey takes on a Red Legion ship in Destiny 2's opening mission.Bungie

Bungie has announced that the ongoing Destiny 2 beta has been extended by two whole days, allowing fans even longer to sample the upcoming sequel to 2014's hit online multiplayer shooter.

The beta will now conclude across Tuesday (25 July) and Wednesday (26 July) depending on your time zone: Wednesday 2:00am BST / Wednesday 3:00am CET / Tuesday 9:00pm EDT / Tuesday 6:00pm PDT.

Bungie has warned players that it plans to conduct some testing across those two additional days, and so they may run into errors and other problems.

Advertisement

This is exactly what betas are for however.

Destiny 2's beta launched on Tuesday 18 July and Wednesday 19 July for those who pre-ordered the game on PS4 and Xbox One respectively, then launched globally for everyone to play on Friday 21 July.

The beta kicks off with the game's opening mission - called Homecoming - which sets everything up.

There's a Strike to be completed with two fellow Guardians as well, and a further two competitive Crucible modes: Control and new mode Countdown.

On 23 July, Bungie briefly opened up The Farm: Destiny 2's new social hub area. There wasn't much to do in there but explore and play some rudimentary football, but it was fun to see where players will be spending a lot of their time come September.

It's not clear if The Farm will open up once again before the beta concludes later this week.

You can read our thoughts about the Destiny 2 beta here.

Advertisement

Destiny 2 will be released on 6 September for PS4 and Xbox One. A PC version will release on 24 October with its own separate beta running some time in August.

© Copyright 2017 IBTimes Co., Ltd. All Rights Reserved.